Writing Lately.

First Writer’s Wednesday on this blog in a while. In a while! What, what?!!

Let’s start this off with something light. A spin on the life lately trend. But solely writing (unfortunately there are no pictures to back this up, so use your imagination) .

1. I have read back some of my journal entries on this lover – Happy Valentine’s by the way. It’s been interesting to see the journey, from blind obsession to incomprehensible heartbreak, to here, where I hope we are healthier.

2. I am eagerly looking for platforms and avenues to get my writing out. And daydreaming about what I could do when😏 I win the prizes. I’m looking forward to it. I haven’t been here in a while so this is good.

3. Been reading back some of my old short story pieces to remind myself I’ve still got it😎 and to assess. Could it have been better? Should it be longer? Have I grown? Does my writing still move me?

4. Getting in the groove of dreaming up what this future could be…and not hating it! How else could I stretch my writing? What else is out there? What’s my big writing goal in 3 years? Picking up things that had fallen off in the heat of a quit.

5. Falling in love with some of my characters🤭. It’s true, for some of those stories, I’m clearly biased towards someone. Falling in love with writing.

6. Letting other people in on the process. I know, I know, I know, writing is a solitary venture but it has been nice to send out a story I’m working and see how a reader would connect. The questions that come up, a direction it could go…a lone venture doesn’t have to be lonely.

7. Bringing God into the mess. I’ll tell you of one (lately, my conversations with God have been real good. Real good). I had a story I was working on. A thousand words in and I wasn’t feeling it, even though I had been so excited to start. My idea was to start over and find a new plot. But we sat together and found a way through what I already had. Isn’t that what He does though – takes the broken and makes it beautiful? There’s a lot of thought here – how He can be interested in little strange stories I’m writing and how I can do that with Him.

So what’s writing lately looking like for you? Or whatever passion it is for you?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.