What to do with feedback on your craft

At some point in your writing journey (something we all know to be a solitary undertaking), you will need or want some feedback.

I like feedback…or so I say. I like to know how people are impacted by the words I put together. Even better when they see no fault and are just singing about how good I am😅.

Taking it has been another thing altogether. Yes, even the praise.

I’m always wary of another set of eyes on a draft. And I know family and friends can be misleading with their rose-coloured feedback.

Resent it.

How dare they tell you what works when they didn’t even come up with the line or the story – huh? I once had a story, ‘The Black Bandit, that I loved, really loved. I sent it out and I was mostly confident it would return with those high praises – ‘how did you think this up’, ‘what a unique approach’.

That, though, is not what happened. The judges tore into my story and I was mad the entire time I read through it. I buried the feedback and have never read it again, or worked on the possible changes (yes, I can be petty).

Ignore it.

Hey, no one knows better than you how things should turn out for your characters (or other craft). And even though you went looking for the feedback, they should have read your mind and said what you wanted to hear, right?

I don’t have a recent example for this. But I do know I ignore some feedback. I concluded that they didn’t catch the vision and the story is doing well without it. So I labour on with my initial thoughts.

Does it always work? That’s the thing with feedback. Read Goodreads reviews or social media comments and you’ll know. People are different. What works for one will not work for another. So sometimes just go with your gut.

Overthink it.

For some of us, let’s be honest, we view our craft as an extension of ourselves (I am doing my best to detach but in the meantime…). This for me has gone both ways. If they found the story lovely, were they needlessly hyping me up because they don’t have the heart to be honest? If they have changes to the story, are they just trying to be difficult? Doesn’t it work as is?

Accept it.

Obviously, some things are just facts. Your character is bland and you can see it. The setting is clear and you know it. You were just hoping no one else would see it. So when they do, you humble yourself and do what you need to.

All that said, Feedback is the breakfast of champions.

Keep putting yourself out there and learn from the experience. I’m preaching to myself here too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.